Zenia Javalera Elected to Second Term as President of SEIU6

President Javalera and her leadership team were elected by acclamation with no opposition at the SEIU6 Nominations Meeting on October 10, 2020.

Janitors, airport workers, security officers, and allied industry workers represented by SEIU6 Property Services NW elected Zenia Javalera and her slate of officers, executive board members, and trustees to lead the union in the upcoming 2021-2023 term. With no opposition, President Javalera’s slate was elected by acclamation, having delivered a support petition signed by nearly 1,000 members to the SEIU6 Election Committee.

“I am proud to stand with this leadership team, who each carry with them the first-hand experience of airport workers, janitors, security officers, and essential workers on the frontlines of this pandemic. We share a commitment to building power in our local, and a vision for engaging in the urgent fight for racial, social, and economic justice.”—President Zenia Javalera

President Javalera was a longtime organizer with SEIU6 before rising to leadership. In 2019, she was elected president by the executive board following the retirement of former SEIU6 President Sergio Salinas. Since becoming president, Javalera has led SEIU6 through the COVID-19 pandemic, fighting for safety protections for the local’s frontline workers, winning a pay increase for janitors, and overseeing the addition of 1300 new security officers on Amazon’s campus as members of SEIU6.

The newly elected slate of SEIU6 leadership is as follows:

President: Zenia Javalera

Secretary-Treasurer: Jorge Dueñas

Vice President: Elsa Ogbe

Vice President: Lalesa Gurmessa

Retired Member-at-Large: Bruce Berkbigler

Non-Retired Member-at-Large: Carlos Villa Trujillo

Executive Board:

Ambar Arellano

Eleine Senebeto

Makda Redae

Amir Kalabic

Isela Morales

Mulat Ayalew

Demetrus Dugar

Jamila “Mimi” Culcleasure

Robert Lund


Chung Wong

Maria Gamiz

Tulu Dinagde

In accordance with the SEIU6 Constitution and Bylaws, the new slate will be sworn in to begin their term in January, 2021.